Wakeboard World Cup Stop Fever Hits Sarawak

Water sports enthusiasts around the world will be eyeing Kuching from Sept 16-18 2011 when international stars converge to compete in the IWWF Wakeboard World Cup Stop. This was disclosed by Assistant Tourism Minister Datuk Talip Zulpilip as the state of Sarawak, Malaysia has won the bid to host a Stop of the Waterski and Wakeboard World Cup Series at the Kuching Waterfront.
This World Cup Series brings with it a highly valuable TV, Internet and Press coverage. A live Webcast will also be made available for the three days of the event and this will immensely help to introduce Sarawak to world.
With more than 30 million waterski and wakeboard participants both as recreational and competitive sport in 92 countries, the IWWF organized Waterski and Wakeboard World Cup Series is the premier event for all top water sports athletes.
To date, 30 successful World Cup Stops have already brought the spills and thrills of the Series to many great venues including major cities in the US, France, Egypt, Russia, China, Great Britain, Ireland, Singapore, South Korea and Malaysia.
Meanwhile, the Sarawak Stop will attract participants from at least 15 countries including the US, Canada, Australia, Singapore, Thailand, Belgium, France, Great Britain, Sweden, Netherlands, South Africa, Russia, Argentina and South Korea. Fans will be thrilled to know Philip Soven, Andrew Adkison, Dallas Friday, Raimi Merritt, British Nicola Butler and Dan Knott, Harley Clifford and Sasha Christian are among the stars expected to compete here.
Apart from the main competitions, the Ministry of Tourism and Heritage has also decided to bring in the world famous “Stars of Florida Waterski Show Team” as a token for visitors and water sports enthusiasts from Malaysia and visitors from all over the world.
Source: The Borneo Post
See Kuching Tour

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>